Skip to content

Teams

November 10, 2009

I have been on a lot of teams through out my life. Everything from soccer, to baseball to basketball. And even now, I try to play pick-up basketball every week.

And recently building a great team has been on my mind. I really believe that having a great team dictates whether you are going to have success. On every team there must be a few things that are vitally important. I thought I would name a few that I have thought about in the past few days.

The team must be able to follow their leader/ coach.

If the team can’t decide one way or another who is the leader and that they will follow them then they are doomed to fail sooner or later. I will say this though… just because someone has the title, doesn’t mean they have the respect. The coach leader must earn this first before people will follow. Other wise people will just play for themselves.

There must be unity on the team.

Everyone should support everyone. I know it’s hard to do, I mean people are going to be people. Sooner or later feelings will be hurt and ego’s bruised. From beginning to end, the team must be unified if they want to work towards any goal, let alone accomplish it.

The focus needs to be centralized for the team.

The focus is set by the leader/ coach. After this is set their are roles that people fit into. We all have different talents and abilities, which means we all will do different things but, that doesn’t mean we have an excuse to lose focus of the pre-set goal.

The effort must be the same from everyone on the team.

Let’s be honest, no one likes a person who thinks they don’t have to work as hard as the rest of the team. Not everyone on a team will have the same talent, but the effort must be there from everyone. The moment someone feels like a team member is not working as hard as the other team members things begin to fall apart.

 

Would you add anything? Re-order anything? I would love to hear your thoughts… I need to learn more on this subject!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 12:20 pm

    Clarity of vision and purpose. Repeat.

    It’s important to understand why & how you’re doing something and to continually be reminded of it. I think that will help stay unified as to the task at hand so as not to get focused on our own agendas.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      November 10, 2009 9:14 pm

      Christ that is a great thought I like it! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

