Skip to content

You Watch That Stuff?

October 23, 2009
tags: , , ,

Yesterday I tweeted; “Bloggin abt the death of the gospel and wtching music vids on VH1 and MTV,yes I do watch those channels sometimes. No I don’t thnk its a sin.”


I thought I would get a lot more reaction out of that statement, my tweets tend to do that at times, but to my surprise there were only a few comments about that tweet.

I am going to expand on the topic of watching things your mother doesn’t watch in a moment but first I want to say that I am not going to “defend” this topic. But merely explain my thoughts and convictions. I find that explanation and discussion are more productive than defending which leads to arguing.

With all that said lets talk a little bit about the subject of watching, listening to, and reading things that are not made my Christians.

I believe in understanding the world. I want to know how the world operates, thinks, and acts. I want to know what the world enjoys, watches, and listens to.

More than the above statement I want to know Christ! I want to know God and all that makes Him, Him. I believe in God with my whole heart. More than that I want my love for the things of God to show in my everyday world.

Part of loving God is loving people who He created. Loving those people who God created means loving them even when they don’t think, act or believe like you.

Which brings us to why I watch things that you might not or things that my mother does not. I pay attention to things the world is doing to understand what they are thinking, feeling, and hoping for. I DO NOT let what they are doing change the way I believe or act. I want to be in this world (something I cannot escape without death) but I do not want to be of it.

I do have convictions of what I will read, listen to and watch, but those are mine not yours. I want to see the world with the view of Christ. Christ spent more time I assure you hanging with people who didn’t think like Him (at least right away) than He did boycotting Disney because they support gay rights.

I think you get my point, in the world because you are already here. Just not of it.

I am sure you have thoughts, I would love to hear them!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. maplesyrup21 permalink
    October 23, 2009 4:38 am

    hmm.. interesting !

    I am Christian and I don’t think watching some channel is considered a ‘sin’.. I mean, we are not doing any harm..

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      October 23, 2009 11:14 am

      Natalie, its not that we are “doing” anything but that we are letting things that maybe shouldn’t in.

      Thanks for reading. How did you find out about this blog?

  2. Craig permalink
    October 23, 2009 11:46 am

    Since I made a comment about your tweet, I thought I would reply to your post.
    I tend to be careful of what I watch/listen to. Not because my mom told me not to or my pastor, though I’ve been there and done that. My thoughts generate to everyone around me. I want to know how to minister to them and I’m not afraid to hang out with anybody. That is why I guard what comes into my ears and eyes. Especially now that I have two little ones looking at what I do ALL the time.
    I feel that I, as a leader, give license to do and say things by what I do and say. I do not want to make anyone stumble or put a road block up for anyone coming to Jesus by what I say and do. This challenges me.
    I want to set the best example I can so I can say as Paul said, “Follow me as I follow Christ.” Not the world and what is trendy. This is my conviction and I don’t always say much but I want you to be know that young people are looking for someone who is sold out to Jesus. And they can take us only watching PG-13 movies and turn that into watching R movies. Scripture tells us to be innocent about what is evil (Rom. 16: vs. ?). So, I may be ignorant to movies, TV, and music, but that has not stopped me from ministering and building friendships with those around me in this world.
    Those are my thoughts and convictions.

  3. October 23, 2009 1:19 pm

    While I am careful with what I watch and listen to, I watch and listen because I enjoy it. I don’t watch tv and listen to non-Christian music for its anthropological benefits.

    Ben I always enjoy reading your blog. Sometimes I agree, sometimes I disagree, but I’m ALWAYS challenged to figure out why I hold the position I hold (or if I should change that position!)

  4. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    October 24, 2009 2:23 pm

    Grace I would say that I am also very much like you. I am careful, but I do a lot of the times watch and listen to something because I find it enjoyable. But lately I have been trying to watch things in a missional way, in a way described in the post.

    Thanks for reading Grace, your comment really encouraged me so much! Your comment means that this blog is doing what I described in the “About” section of this blog. Thanks Grace!

  5. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    October 24, 2009 2:39 pm

    Craig I understand what you are saying. It actually was exactly what I thought you would say. But with that being said you do make some good points. Yes, we do do things that people look up to. We must watch what we see, read and listen too, but I don’t think that understanding things about the world makes a person “unsoldout” to Jesus.

    I believe that if you are going to watch, listen and read to certain things then you had better be able to explain them to the people that follow you.

    As for making people stumble? Well that is a whole different post someday, but I will say that I think most people should believe more in the power of Christ rather than watching to see if a Christian they look up to is doing something that would “cause them to stumble.” I know that might sound harsh, but where is our faith in Jesus that can move mountains, break addictions and such!

    Lastly Craig, since I know you I can say that you are not socially awkward when it comes to meeting and interacting with “outsiders.” However I have see many others in our profession that get 100% lost when someone who doesn’t believe like them says they commited a sin in front of them. And that makes me sad.

    Thanks for reading man. Thanks for the comments.

  6. Craig Riggle permalink
    October 27, 2009 3:25 pm

    Thanks for giving me a chance to comment on my feelings about this topic. I just blogged a little more about this myself. Though, I hate to be predictable.

    I understand the power of the Holy Spirit but I also understand the importance that we play. Paul was very careful to make sure everything he did could not be taken wrong. (He worked as a tent maker so that people couldn’t say things about him taking money.) Yes, he did know things about the world. (He quotes part of a poem from a poet of his day that I don’t believe was a Christian.) Paul walked in the power of the Holy Spirit and knew that it wasn’t about persuasive words but a demonstration of the Spirits power. But he also guarded the temple of the Holy Spirit which was him. I believe it comes down to being careful on what I let come into this temple of the Holy Spirit in how I relate to this culture.

    It’s one thing to know about something and understand where others are coming from. But it is a whole other thing to get wrapped up in it and find enjoyment in it. (No, I’m not against finding enjoyment in this world, just guarding my temple as stated above.) Friendship with the world is hatered towards God (James 4:4). I feel that sometimes the church is just a little less carnal than the world is. And that is not what Jesus had in mind when He came to set captives free. Some people in the world struggle with the very things we want to watch and listen to and do. So how will they find freedom? The power of the Holy Spirit? Yes, it’s the only way. But they need to see that way lived out in our lives. Don’t know if I’m making sense. Maybe sitting down over lunch or something would be easier to talk.

    And I don’t feel that you are wrapped up in the world or that you are an evil man, so I hope that my comments have not been taken like that. Just some thoughts to ponder.

  7. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    October 27, 2009 7:29 pm

    Craig great thoughts man! I am glad you know me. I would love to talk in person sometime, but for now thanks for reading! Your the man!

  8. matthelmuth permalink
    December 2, 2009 12:09 am

    I randomly came across your blog because it was related to my own.

    An interesting counterpoint:

    “Christ spent more time I assure you hanging with people who didn’t think like Him (at least right away) than He did boycotting Disney because they support gay rights.”

    Surely he did.

    He also spent more time doing things with people than watching TV.

    Maybe instead of watching the TV the world watches to see what the world thinks, we should spend time with the people the TV produces, to hear what they think firsthand.

    Interesting comments from others also, I must say.

    On the subject of being a stumbling block:

    “I think most people should believe more in the power of Christ rather than watching to see if a Christian they look up to is doing something that would ’cause them to stumble.'”

    Agreed. If someone can be caused to stumble by an action, though, no matter how small, is it possible that what they need is not someone more mature than they saying to “grow up?”

    We are called to model Christ. As much as I disdain the culture of marketed Christianity that spawned the WWJD? slogan, I think it’s applicable to our lives. What would Jesus do?

    -Matt

  9. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    December 2, 2009 12:23 am

    Thanks Matt, you make some good points.

Leave a Reply

