Skip to content

You Have A Story

September 22, 2009

A number of weeks ago I had the wonderful priviledge of meeting another blogger… or what I thought was just another person who blogs. Turns out Matthew Paul Turner is a very accomplished author. (For the record… I never knew) He has written a number of books (17, I think) and the latest of which is Churched.

I found out the Matt was going to be in the Western Pa area via Twitter. I sent him a message asking if he would let me take him out to lunch, dinner or coffee. We did the coffee. And for 2 hours we sat and talked about church, christian culture and writing.

To be completely honest I never expected him to be so gracious and sit down with me. For no good reason I thought he would “big time” it… he didn’t.

Talking with Matt was one of the most encouraging conversations that I have had in a long time. The most encouraging thing he said was that everyone has a story to tell. And that I shouldn’t be fearful of telling mine. He said that really all writing is, is telling those stories.

For me to hear this was extremely helpful because no one has ever really encouraged me to tell my story.

I just wanted to say thanks Matt if your out there reading today. Thanks for meeting and thanks for the encouragement!

If you are looking to find out about Matt and what he does, check him out at jesusneedsnewpr.com. By the way, if you are the religious type… don’t be too offended. Matt says what is on his mind, it has got to be one of his greatest qualities.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

