Skip to content

Soapbox/ Confession

September 16, 2009

Can I tell you something? I mean I am about to bare my soul to the world. I hope you are sitting down. Please take a moment and have a seat… because I don’t need you to sue me over something I write/ confess in writing.

Here it comes… I have never read any of Rick Warrens books! I know, I can hear the gasps. I even hear them in other countries. Don’t as me how, I just do.

Anyways, yeah I have never read any of them. And until someone pays me, or makes me… I don’t plan on reading any of them.

Here is the deal. I am sure that Rick is a great dude… Obama likes him so he can’t be that bad right? I actually respect that he has much influence in the world in which I live. I thought his prayer at the inauguration was great, nice, well said. I think he is a fine person of good character. Here is where I jump off…

I never like to be a person who jumps on the band wagon. I like to discover things for myself. It seems as though I have a natural tendency to shy away from things that I see the majority of people flocking too. Rick Warren is on of those things for me. Example: Rick didn’t use Twitter for a while, then something must have changed in his mind (or he hired someone to do it, if I bet I would put money on this) and decided to join Twitter. Almost everyone I follow decided to follow @Rickwarren. And the glorification began. People retweet the man like the words that we coming out of his mouth are RED LETTERS! So I didn’t jump in… I couldn’t. It would go against everything I stand for. Or at least on this subject.

Your thoughts, comments, concerns? Remember people it’s a confession… be kind. HA!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. marksantistevan permalink
    September 16, 2009 1:27 pm

    rick warren is a good guy and i think he probably has very valuable insights on twitter. and you should read rick warren’s books so you know what he has to say instead of being intentionally ignorant. even if you’re not impressed (like me… i like him, i don’t love him) you should know what he has to say.

    mark

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    September 16, 2009 5:04 pm

    Mark you are 100% right. I agree with you I should probably read his books. I just was trying to make the point that it seems like we worship him, instead of the one who created him and gave him all that wisdom.

  3. @branford permalink
    September 16, 2009 5:36 pm

    he used to be skinny, and now he’s fat (and rich?)
    just sayin…

  4. Tiffany permalink
    September 16, 2009 5:42 pm

    Not liking something just because a lot of other people like it is just as annoying as jumping on a bandwagon for sake of being a part of the crowd. If I’m not mistaken you have your favorite authors/preachers/pastors and just because you don’t RT them doesn’t mean you don’t look up to them too often. Humility is the key here; too often we go against things that are mainstream just because we want to appear more analytical/smart/relevant- which is an issue of pride and stupidity.

  5. September 16, 2009 6:09 pm

    AND I heard he uses a PC. Just one more reason to avoid him at all costs.

    Lets just hope he’s also one of those guys who shys away from things that many people flock to, that way you never have to run into him at the Apple Store (aka the iBandwagon).

    Sorry Ben, I couldn’t resist 🙂

  6. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    September 16, 2009 6:55 pm

    Tiffany, it sounded like you are saying I am prideful?

  7. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    September 16, 2009 6:55 pm

    Grace you are too funny!

  8. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    September 16, 2009 6:55 pm

    @branford you make a great point… thanks for the comment bro. Hope all is well.

  9. Tiffany permalink
    September 16, 2009 7:39 pm

    Ben

    That wasn’t my intention, but I do think that it is presumptuous to make snap decisions (and blog) about Rick Warren and those who like him or rt him while being comfortable remaining ignorant to what he has written/said. And maybe you would disagree, but it is kind of prideful to purposefully not like something ONLY for the reason that everyone else likes it. Totally not trying to be rude, just responding to what you asked. 🙂

  10. marksantistevan permalink
    September 16, 2009 7:43 pm

    ben did you say anything about “not liking something just because a lot of other people like it?” i checked again but i couldn’t find it… i couldn’t even find where you said you didn’t like rick warren…

    mark

  11. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    September 16, 2009 9:09 pm

    Again I think he is a smart dude… I just try to not put people on platforms. I do have people I look up to, I just don’t retweet them like they are speaking in red like I mentioned.

    Thanks for clearing that up Tiffany. : ) Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

