Skip to content

Negative Nancy

September 4, 2009

I used to when I was younger be very negative. From the beginning stages of being a youth leader in the youth group I attended to now I have always struggled to be a positive person. I am however much improved from the time I was 18 years old.

No one really likes to be around a negative person. People will tolerate negative people for a short time before they write them off completely. I really think that people are really not as negative as they come off as, but that they have not learned the proper way to communicate what is going on in their brain.

It took me some time to learn this, but the words that you let come out of your mouth either have the power  to build up or tear down. When I was younger I did a lot of tearing down… now that doesn’t happen nearly as often… I try not to let it happen at all.

I learned, over time, that the way you say things really has a lot to do with the way people see you. And one of the biggest lessons I learned was this: If you are going to voice your opinion about a subject in a negative way , you had better have another option to offer. Otherwise people just think you are a hate monger.

Anyone agree? Let me know what you think or maybe what you have experienced.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

