Skip to content

The Will Of God

August 26, 2009

“God is not concerned about directional or locational will. He is concerned at first about inner development. So if you will be the kind of person that God wants you to be, then you will go where God wants to go and do what God wants you to do. But if you don’t want to be the kind of person God wants you to be then when you get where God wants you to go, you won’t be the right person in that place.” George Wood

Do you agree or disagree? I will write more on the subject later. Comments can be as simple as “Yes I agree.” or “No I disagree.”

15 Comments leave one →
  1. josh roach permalink
    August 26, 2009 11:30 am

    wow. yes i agree

    God’s providence is unknowable. it is such because we are finite and cannot understand a benevolent God being in all places and times at once. however, he makes known his will to us through our lives and our circumstance.

    i look back now and think “it sucks that i went (am going) through some of this stuff in my life, but i can see how God used (will use) it for his will and my betterment.”

    without the things that happen to us in life (good or bad) we do not become the person we are – the person God is shaping us to become. and, thus, we would be unprepared for the rest of what God wills in our lives.

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    August 26, 2009 1:36 pm

    Josh…nice. Well said bro.

  3. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    August 26, 2009 1:36 pm

    Might I add that He makes His will known to us through His Word.

  4. August 26, 2009 4:49 pm

    Yes, I agree. Josh summed it up pretty good so I won’t add any more. 🙂

  5. lalondino permalink
    August 26, 2009 7:00 pm

    Yes, I agree. I like this statement a lot.

  6. August 26, 2009 8:52 pm

    Good word, bro. I taught on this at young adults at the beginning of the summer and made the statement, “The will of God is more about WHO you are than WHAT you do.” We can discern God’s will and make decisions based on a renewed mind.

  7. Benjamin Davis permalink*
    August 26, 2009 11:18 pm

    I think that people should hear this Word more often. We are way too worried about “directional will” rather than doing what He says to in the Bible.

  8. dove124 permalink
    June 3, 2010 3:02 pm

    Ben,
    Where in the world did you got that stupid idea, that God is not concerned with directional or locational will? That is not biblical teaching. You are creating your own gospel.

    READ THE BIBLE AGAIN, AND UNDERSTAND IT FULLY.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 3, 2010 3:12 pm

      Dear Dove124,

      First the quote is by Geogre Wood, president of the Assemblies of God and secondly its a good quote.

      Maybe before you jump all over me, you should read the entire Bible.

      Its not that I think, or Mr. Wood thinks that God does not care about directional or locational will, its that it is entirely secondary to what the primary will of God is.

      I am not creating my own Gospel. I do understand the Bible and I don’t really know who you are but I think your comment was idiotic. I might even go so far as to call you a moron when it comes to understanding what God’s will is for your life.

      But I am not that upset by your lack of knowledge, if I was I would have used all CAPITAL LETTERS LIKE YOU. haha

      Thanks for reading who ever you are.

  9. dove124 permalink
    June 6, 2010 12:14 pm

    Re: I do understand the bible:
    REALLY ? I don’t think so. Because if you really do understand the bible, you would NOT have embrace this stupid idea of your so called fly by night pastor. And also my comment is not idotic, it is biblical. It’s the idea of that pastor of your that is idotic, and whoever embrace it. That’s why , I questioned it. If I’m not well verse of the bible, do you really think that I will have the guts to question that article of yours ?
    You see, you are already in a defensive mood.You outright denied it, that it was not yours. So, that proves that, that article of yours, is questionable, and debatable, and NOT BIBLICAL.

    Put me in remembrance : LET US PLEAD TOGETHER : DECLARE THOU, THAT THOU MAYEST BE JUSTIFIED.(Isaiah 43:26)
    So , what will it be ?

    And also, If you do understand what God’s will is , I will ask you this question, and see who really is THE MORON . And if you be able to answer it , I will not bother you again.
    Question : HOW MANY WILL OF GOD THAT ARE WRITTEN IN THE BIBLE ?
    Supply it with verses.
    You can even ask the help of Geoge Wood. And all your available pastors in that congregation of yours.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 6, 2010 10:26 pm

      Dove124,

      I am not being defensive, however I am sorry if you took it that way. I was just stating facts.

      You have never commented before so I don’t know who you are, or how you found me…

      But if you would like my response you can just read the next days post.

      https://iambendavis.wordpress.com/2009/08/28/just-so-you-know-that-you-know/

      God is not PRIMARILY concerned with our location, or vocation when it comes it His will for our lives. He is most concerned that we give Him Glory.

      Read my post. And BTW I am not into arguing how many times something is in the Bible. That is a silly road to take, because we will just go round and round until we both get ticked off.

      Thanks for reading, looking forward to how you will respond.

  10. June 6, 2010 10:33 pm

    Yes I agree.

    It is a good statement overall.Minor quibbles but still germane. In the first sentence between “concerned” and “about” should be the word primarily. It would make the sentence more grammatically and theologically tight.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 6, 2010 11:06 pm

      Thanks Will for your thoughts. I would agree the primarly would be a better choice of word but then again no one gets it right all the time.

      Hope all is well bro

  11. dove124 permalink
    June 7, 2010 5:08 pm

    Re: God is not PRIMARILY concerned with our location, or VOCATION?…..

    You had said before that God is not concerned with locational, or Directional ? Now you wrote VOCATION. What is it really? Direction or Vocation? Do you really understand what you are saying? or are you a confused person?

    Re : He is more concerned that we give HIM glory.
    How can you give HIM a righteous glory if you are NOT in the right Direction, and in the right Location?
    For example : If you are a Catholic, can HE not be concerned that you gave Him glory, while you are worshipping graven images, that is contrary to HIS will?
    And if you are a member of any Protestant group, can HE not be concerned that you give HIM glory, while the teaching of these group are erroneous teaching that are contrary to the teachings that are written in the Bible?

    You hypocrites, God is concerned first with what Direction you will take ;
    1) ” Ye shall observe to do therefore as the Lord your God hath commanded you. Ye shall not turn aside to the right hand or to the left.” (Deu. 5:32)
    2) Thus saith the Lord, STAND ye in the ways, and SEE , and ASK for the old paths, where is the GOOD WAY, and WALK therein, and ye shall FIND REST for your souls.(Jer. 6:16)

    then secondly, God is concerned with the right Location where HE will place you.
    1) ” But Christ as a Son over HIS OWN HOUSE ; whose house are we, ..(Hebrews 3:6)
    2) “…And ye had MADE A COVENANT before me in THE HOUSE which is called BY MY NAME. (Jeremiah 34:15)
    3) “But if I tarry long, that thou mayest know how thou oughtest to BEHAVE thyself in THE HOUSE OF GOD which is THE CHURCH OF THE LIVING GOD, the Pillar and Ground of the truth. (I Tim. 3:15)

    And after that, that will be the only time where you can worship God in a rightful way, and to give Him glory that is acceptable and according to His Will.

    Now , about the will of God. You people had the guts to talked about the will of God, but you never understand what the will of God are.
    And about my challenge to you: You gave me alibi, that prove only one thing, that you are a M_ _ _ N, when it comes to understanding the Bible. The fact is, you need not count them, you need only to looked for 3 verses in the bible, and that will comprise all the Will of God.
    One in the Old Testament, and the rest in the New Testament. That is the only clue I can gave you. So next time, be very careful who you will call a moron.

    • Benjamin Davis permalink*
      June 7, 2010 5:34 pm

      Yes, I did change the word. I guess I should have added it in there, but I didn’t write the quote. Still stands that I believe that it is a good quote.

      Look, I am done trying to convince a person who I don’t know, or know anything about that I am right. Also if you are going to comment, please proof read your stuff. It is very hard to read when it comes to grammar.

      The point is, is that God is more concerned about your development of you becoming like Him. That is His primary will. If you get in line with that, then you will go where God wants you to go and do what He wants you to do.

      I am not into proof texting like you are doing above. If you want to continue this conversation, how about you tell us who you are. I don’t know if you noticed but you are the only person who has disagreed with this idea.

      I am still waiting for you to identify yourself, as a person with a name and description about yourself. Maybe what you do? Maybe leave a link to a blog that you write? Stop hiding behind your screen name.

      And again I am sorry that I said you were a moron or idiotic. I got out of hand. My bad.

Leave a Reply

