Skip to content

Ben Davis: Unloaded

August 17, 2009

A few thoughts on Sunday night for you to read now, or for you to read first things Monday morning.

I watched the birth of The Element Church this morning. Pastor Rich who is both someone I look up to and someone I consider a close friend is going to do a great job there in Millvale.

I am excited to start working on things for my new job. Tomorrow I start prepping for this fall when youth group kicks back in. So pumped about what God is going to do. More on this later this week.

I have been reading like crazy, I think I am going to take a break from reading Christian books. The next two books will be from the secular world. Hope that is ok with all of you.

Communication is key. Remember if you don’t do it your blood pressure will rise. And no one looks good when their face is always red with steam. (Picture a carttoon with steam coming out the it’s ears.)

My wife is absolutely amazing! I love Abbie more than she will ever know.

I bought a truck to do some construction since my new job as youth pastor only pays part-time. This week I have work for myself everyday. I have never done that before. 6 days straight of working for myself.

I would like to redo this site, as in make it look a little more hip and attract more clicks on things that can be clicked. That is why I added the Thomas Nelson to your left and Flickr if you scroll down a little.

I love Twitter. If you read this blog, you should follow me and I will follow you. Unless you unfollow me then I will be offended but let it run off my back. I understand you don’t want to be Twitter buddies.

Speaking of Twitter, it is powerful and you need to recognize. The last two church services for Element Church I twittered about it and both times people showed up because they saw it on Facebook. WOW!

Been wrestling with the idea of the church being missional, how we as pastors should preach, and not being hypocritical. I might blog on some of these topics later this week. If you want to know what I think about something, just ask. I am not really afraid to answer anything. Remember though I am not that smart.

If you were in charge of launching a youth group in the fall, what would you start off walking about?

Sometimes I wonder if I am doing this right? Do you wonder that?

Thanks for being Unloaded on. I appreciate it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shawn permalink
    August 17, 2009 3:49 am

    Read Outliers (Malcom Gladwell) or Made to Stick by Chip and Dan Heath.

    Good (secular) books.

  2. Kristi Spencer permalink
    August 19, 2009 3:35 pm

    Hey Ben,
    In response to how would you start to launch for this fall….
    Pray and be patient and open to hear God’s ideas for it. Don’t be so zealous that you head full steam without inquiring of the Lord. Of course this is advice from one who needs to have “inquire of the Lord” and “be slow to speak” tatooed to the inside of her eyelids. I’ll be praying for you too!

Leave a Reply

