Skip to content

Book Review

June 29, 2009

A close friend and former classmate of mine recently recommended a book to me. Now let me tell you that my friend is a girl, which means the book she recommended to me had to be a girly book.

I took the book because she said it was the best book she has ever read (that’s a big statement, she obviously doesn’t read a lot) and since my wife was standing there with us I took the book and told her that I would read it. After a number of weeks of casually reading I am finished.

Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist is a phenomenal book. I can honestly say I enjoyed reading it. The main point is about seeing life from a different point of view. It is to me, a girly book. But with that said it is good to read things that might not be up your alley so to speak. The book is about family, God, kids, drinking, death, celebration and how it all comes together in what we call life.

There are times in this book, I hate to admit this, that made me cry. After certain chapters I felt nostalgic, happy, and inspired! Mrs. Niequest is a superb writer. Through the entire book I kept thinking to myself; “I should stop reading this, it has no point.” But that was exactly the point. It made me feel… it made me feel good.

So if your looking to feel something… anything… I want you to go grab this book from your local bookstore and read it.

I will leave you with some of my favorite quotes, you can check out Shauna’s website here.

” So to all the secret writers, late0 night painters, would- be singers, lapsed and scared artists of every stripe, dig out your paintbrush, or your flute, or your dancing shoes. Pull out your camera or your computer or your poetry wheel. Today, tonight, after the kids are in bed or when your homework is done, or instead of one more video game or magazine, create something, anything. Pick up a needle and thread, and stitch together something particular and honest and beautiful, because we need it. I need it.”

“Everything is interim” “I believe in the gift of pain. I believe that loss deepens us.”

jobs are things you do, they are not badges of who you are, they are not as important as your character or your family or your soul.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

