Skip to content

I just started reading this book…

May 12, 2009

I just started reading John Piper’s book Brothers We Are NOT Professionals. I have only read the preface and chapter one and I am struck by the weight of Piper’s words.

I want to give you the context for me… I am currently looking for a new position in ministry. A number of weeks ago I stepped out of the role/position I had and decided to look for something else. During this in-between stage I have been seeking God for what HE wants me to do. I don’t just want to take a job in ministry , just to do ministry.

I believe the call of God on my life to pastor people is special and important, as it is for anyone who is doing ministry. So it is important to me to find where God wants me to be.

Here are some quotes from chapter 1:

The aims of our ministry are eternal and spiritual. ”

“The world sets the agenda of the professional man; God sets the agenda of the spiritual man.”

“The preacher… is not a professional man; his ministry is not a profession; it is a divine institution, a divine devotion.”- E.M. BOUNDS

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

