Skip to content

Think about it.

February 12, 2009

Here is a question for you… can God force people to do certain things. Ok, now I know God can make people DO whatever He wants but does He?
Can God make you choose to believe in Him? Can God make you love your neighbor? Can God make you prioritize your money? Your time? Does God sit in heaven pulling strings and levers controlling our every move?

I once heard someone pray/ask/tell God to make another person “do something” which has always made me wonder if that person believes that God makes choices for people or forces people to do things?

I guess if you believe that God forces people to do things it’s ok to pray that way. But I don’t think that is correct. I believe that God gives people a choice to serve Him. I believe that we have a free will to make the choices between right and wrong. We are not robots and God did not program us to be that way. So we don’t pray that God would make someone do something. However, we should pray that God’s presence invades their life so that they can make the right choice.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 9:25 pm

    I believe that in a Christian, there are certain times when the Holy Spirit can strongly influence our actions. For example, a Christian friend and I were driving down the road when she pulled over for no reason. She didn’t even know what she was doing. All of the sudden, something popped and steam started coming from the engine. If that had happened on the two lane, country road we were on, it would not have been good. I believe God kept us safe that day by forcing her off the road.

  2. Benjamin Davis permalink
    February 13, 2009 3:56 am

    Grace I agree with you. The Holy Spirit does indeed influence our lives. I guess I should have clarified that they were praying for a non- Christian to be like Christ. You know what I mean?

  3. Crouton permalink
    February 13, 2009 4:04 am

    Your are obviously do not believe in predistination haha

  4. Benjamin Davis permalink
    February 13, 2009 4:09 am

    If I believed in predestination in this case, then I might agree with praying for God to make them make the right choice. Or wait…God wouldn’t because He knows who gets in anyhow, right?

Leave a Reply

