Skip to content

Small Group Stuff…

January 13, 2009

This past Saturday I was asked to speak to a number of small group leaders of a church that my church planted. I was very honored and humbled that someone would ask me to talk about the subject. I love small groups and I love to talk to people about doing small groups! I thought I would share some of my thoughts in the next few posts.

First I believe it is a privilege to lead a small group. The fact that God would put you in a place where you have influence on other peoples lives in such a close way should never be taken lightly. To whom much is given, much is required. If we ever approach leading a small group as a duty, work, or just another task, then we shouldn’t be doing them. If you do that then maybe you should step out of your role as a leader.

It is a honor to walk with someone through life.

I want you to think about your spiritual life right now…there is a good chance that you just thought of someone who has influenced your life spiritually in some sort of fashion. It could have been good or it could have been bad. Small group leaders have influence on people’s lives. Many times small group leaders (in my opinion) spend time thinking whether or not they are impacting their group. If you have already made it to the leader role then that is the wrong question to be asking.

It is not simply a question of whether or not you get to make  an impact… it is a question of WHAT kind of impact are you making?

No one cares what you have to say until they know that you care. So build a platform to speak into people’s lives. Take the time to really get to know them and care for them.

More coming later! Let me know what you think.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2009 4:37 am

    Good stuff. Actually, this kind of further answers the question I asked you the other day about when and how to approach new group members with the Gospel. Thanks for sharing your insight!

Leave a Reply

