Skip to content

Gave up and Burnt

November 25, 2008
tags: ,

Leaders “burning” people. It seems to me that every time I turn around I run into someone who has been “burned” by the church or a church leader. Can I just get something off of my chest? This makes me so angry! It makes me made for two reasons:

1. People need to suck it up and not be so wimpy. When a leader challenges them they shy away and become bitter. Often times when someone tells me that they have been “burned” I can see that they just don’t want to deal with their own problems. So they go sulk and complain that they have been “burned.”

2. The other reason this subject makes me mad is I have seen leaders give up on people, which would give people the right to say that they have been “burned.”  Too often leaders give up on the people they are “caring” for because they have “run out of patience.”

The second of these thoughts is what I want to talk about. I would love to eliminate the the term “burn out.” I think this could be done in a few ways but there is one particular that sticks out to me.

I will address it in the next post.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizz permalink
    November 25, 2008 8:37 pm

    are you saying being ‘burnt out’ does not exist?
    and anyone who has ever been burnt out is a wimp?
    because being burnt out is pretty legit, i would say. just not nearly as often as it happens, and it can be avoided, but not always.

  2. November 25, 2008 8:46 pm

    Lizz,
    I am not stating that people can not be burnt by others. It is a legit concern, something that I think we should be more careful of. One of the ways to not be burnt is to constantly be growing close to God. Even then when someone hurts you, you will know how to respond because you are spending time with Christ.

  3. Chris permalink
    November 26, 2008 12:14 am

    I thik you’re right; but in part. This is really complicated. Yes, sometimes I have claimed to have been “burnt” by a leader who told me something I didn’t want to hear, but I’ve also had a whole lot of self-imposed stuff, and suffered from my own and others unrealistic expectations. We are, after all, works in progress…..

  4. November 26, 2008 5:38 am

    I agree with Ben to a point. I think you can be “burn out” but sometimes people claim to be “burnt out” because they are struggling with something internally rather than something that someone else did. But sometimes I do think that people can be burnt out because of unreal expectations, taking on too much or leaders don’t realize how much there pushing. Its a mix of everything. Just like chris said… “It’s complicated” and also very sensitive because so many people are actually “burnt out’

Leave a Reply

