Skip to content

These are a few of my Favorite things

November 18, 2008

cn4291411

Everyone has a favorite piece of clothing. It could be a pair of shoes, a comfortable sweater, a tight pair of pants; it could be a favorite pair of underwear (don’t act like you don’t have them.) For me it has always been tee shirts. In 8th grade my aunt bought me a Tommy Hilfiger tee shirt. It fit perfectly and quickly became my favorite shirt. I wore it all the time, even if I wasn’t wearing it as my shirt, I would wear it as an under shirt. I wore that shirt till it was paper thin, holes starting to appear, stains on the front from food, and armpits caked with deodorant.

Sometime after graduating, I lost my favorite shirt and for the next few years I was without a favorite item of clothing.

I got married a few years after I graduated and went on my honeymoon. On my honeymoon my wife bought me what would become my next favorite tee shirt: gray cotton tee shirt from Banana Republic. I have worn that tee shirt faithfully for the last four and a half years. My wife has told be me recently that I might need to find a new “favorite” shirt, but I think I am going to wear my Banana Republic tee shirt for a little while longer.

I say all of that to ask, what is your favorite item of clothing? How long have you had it? Can you beat owning it for four and a half years?

If you are looking for some favorite tee shirts, Gap makes some of the best under shirts around (I own 8, I think); you can check them out here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizz permalink
    November 18, 2008 10:19 pm

    hmm.
    jeans.
    i definitely have to always have a favorite pair of jeans. if one bites the dust, it’s time to hunt for new ones.

  2. Joshua permalink
    November 19, 2008 12:30 am

    I got a St. Louis Blues Jersey with my name and number on the back for my 16th birthday. I still have it and I love it. It’s been almost 12 years now.

  3. Benjamin Davis permalink
    November 19, 2008 1:37 pm

    Wow Josh, that’s ridiculous! Way to go, so far that tops all!

Leave a Reply

